Viking Bateaux logo
Viking Bateaux logo
Viking Bateaux logo

04 75 88 08 87

07 85 63 85 83

EN – FAQ2024-02-01T13:28:41+01:00

How to prepare for your descent of the Ardèche?

How to prepare for canoeing down the Ardèche at Vallon Pont d’ Arc? Discover the Viking Bateaux FAQ, full of tips and tricks for an unforgettable descent.

Preparing your descent of the Ardèche

The Viking Bateaux team has compiled a list of questions regularly asked by our customers about our routes, navigation conditions and difficulties on the water, payment methods and bivouac reservations. We hope this FAQ will help you prepare for your canoeing trip down the Ardèche.

All about the descent

Who can descend the Ardèche?2023-08-24T17:21:34+02:00

The activity is authorized by the public authorities from the age of 7 for anyone who can swim. All minors must be accompanied by a parent and/or a qualified instructor.

Are descents dangerous?2023-12-11T12:41:55+01:00

Descending the Ardèche is not dangerous in itself, as long as you observe the basic safety rules: never leave your lifejacket on, never dive or jump into the water recklessly, and never rush your boat into the rapids without first assessing the trajectory.

Nevertheless, to be safe on any river, you need to know how to calculate the risks according to your knowledge and skills, and take into account all the recommended safety instructions. That’s why we’ve created this FAQ, to help you prepare for your canoeing trip down the Ardèche.

Are the Ardèche rapids really fast?2023-08-24T17:24:31+02:00

In its longest stretch of 36 km, you’ll find a total of around 25 rapids of varying difficulty along the Ardèche. In reality, only a few of these rapids will really require your full attention to avoid capsizing and ending up in the water.

We recommend that you carefully follow the introductory briefing given by our instructors before departure, and consult the extensive information on our website about the Ardèche rapids.

What equipment do you need?2023-08-24T17:24:36+02:00

– Swimsuit, shorts and T-shirt,
– Depending on the weather, windbreaker or wetsuit (loan available),
– Suitable shoes that hold your feet,
– Avoid flip-flops or flip-flops, which are lost in the event of a fall,
– Hat or cap,
– Sun protection cream, remember the sun’s reflection on the water,
– Sunglasses with cord,
– For prescription glasses, bring an old pair in case of a fall,
– A change of dry clothes,
– A picnic lunch,
– A minimum of 1.5 liters of water to keep you hydrated,
– A rubbish bag for your garbage to take back to the landing stage,
– Don’t take any valuables with you!

How does a raid work?2023-12-11T12:41:55+01:00

Before you do anything else, be sure to read our FAQ: How do I prepare for canoeing down the Ardèche?

Start by visiting the Viking Bateaux base at Vallon Pont d’Arc in the Ardèche: don’t worry about parking, you can easily park your vehicle in our free private parking lot.

Then go to reception either to make an on-site reservation, or with your online reservation voucher. From now on, we’ll take care of everything!

Once your reservation has been confirmed, and after you have familiarized yourself with the river’s landmarks and safety conditions, we will transport you to the respective landing stages for each descent. You’ll take possession of your boats, complete equipment and paddles after an initiation and a final safety briefing. You complete your route according to the conditions and times specified. At the end of your trip, we’ll take you back from the respective landing stages to our base, where you’ll be reunited with your vehicle.

What equipment does Viking Bateaux supply?2023-08-24T17:25:20+02:00

In all cases, we will equip you with a life jacket, which is compulsory on all boats navigating in the Gorges de l’Ardèche.

We will then provide you with a canoe or kayak of your choice, an asymmetrical double paddle with different blade orientations, as well as a 25 or 55-liter watertight canister (not watertight for important personal items) with handles on the lid, food-grade HDPE, screw-on lid to carry your personal belongings, picnic, change of clothes, etc., as well as a watertight canister (not watertight for important personal items) with handles on the lid. Here’s a tip to avoid leaks: tighten the canister lid firmly before each start!

Are dogs allowed on canoes?2023-08-24T17:25:42+02:00

Yes, faithful companions are welcome and will always find a free place on the canoes (only on the 6 and 12 km routes), on the sole condition that they are perfectly controlled by their owner.

Book with Viking Bateaux

Why choose Viking Bateaux?2023-12-11T12:41:55+01:00

With over 20 years’ experience in canoe and kayak rental in Vallon pont d’Arc, Viking Bateaux stands out from other rental companies thanks to its quality service and total customer care. Precise briefings, free transport and parking, checked equipment and a team that cares.

What are the different price categories?2023-12-11T12:41:55+01:00

The Adult price applies to people aged 13 and over. The Child price is reserved for children aged 7 to 12. The Child in 3rd place prize is reserved for children aged 7 to 12 positioned in the center of a canoe, between the two normal places. The Group price is a discount for groups of 10 to 20 people. The Internet price is a special discount if you pay in full online by credit card.

On-site or online booking?2023-08-24T17:33:38+02:00

If you book at one of our Vallon Pont d’Arc sales outlets, the basic in-store rate will apply. If you book online and pay by credit card, you have 2 options: either pay a deposit of 30% and settle the balance on the day of your descent, or pay your booking in full online.

30% deposit or full payment?2023-08-24T17:33:54+02:00

Save with Viking Bateaux! If you pay for your entire booking online by credit card, you can benefit from the special Internet rate! A very special rate indeed, since it can offer substantial immediate discounts per person!

Why do you offer a special Internet rate?2023-12-11T12:38:06+01:00

A sold-out booking allows us to better plan our daily organization. By anticipating your booking, you also save us time, allowing us to focus on the services we’re committed to. So it’s only logical that you should benefit directly from our downhill prices.

What are “normal seats” and “central seats”?2023-12-11T12:37:47+01:00

In practice, canoes are really equipped with 2 seats, located at the front and rear: these are the so-called normal seats. They can be occupied by adults, or by an adult and a child aged 7 and over.

The 3rd center seat is therefore a seat located between the two normal seats, and can only be occupied by a child aged between 7 and 12. This unconventional but very practical place for groups and families benefits from a single preferential rate for all descents, except for descents with bivouacs.

Where can I find Viking Bateaux?2023-12-11T12:38:06+01:00

The Viking Bateaux sales outlet in Vallon Pont d’Arc is a quick and easy way to book a wide range of sports and leisure activities for you and your family or friends: descents of the Ardèche river, accrobranche park, paintball, canyoning, caving, via ferrata…

Pavillon Viking Bateaux, 416, Route des Gorges, Vallon Pont d’Arc

You can find our contact details on our contact page.

How to prepare your bivouac?

What is a bivouac in the Gorges?2023-08-24T18:00:05+02:00

A bivouac is a rudimentary camp where you can spend the night in the wilderness. Although bivouacs often require the use of a tent, sleeping unprotected – commonly referred to as “sleeping under the stars” – is also a bivouac, as is eating in the open air. In the Ardèche, wild bivouacs are forbidden.

Strictly forbidden within the entire perimeter of the Réserve Naturelle Nationale des Gorges de l’Ardèche, wilderness bivouacs are a source of serious disturbance to the natural environment (noise, fires, trampling, garbage dumping, etc.) and pose significant risks to those who practice them (flooding of the Ardèche, fire).

Where are the authorized bivouacs?2023-08-24T18:05:20+02:00

Two former farms, located in the heart of the Ardèche Gorges, were created in the early 80s to enable visitors to spend a night in the Nature Reserve.

The Gaud bivouac, the largest and least frequented, is one-third of the way along the route. The Gournier bivouac, recommended for hikers, is halfway down the descent. With basic comforts (sanitary facilities, cold showers, communal barbecues with charcoal supplied, tables, drinking water, first-aid station), these bivouac sites offer ideal conditions for staying in the heart of nature. Please respect the silence and tranquillity of the premises.

How do I book a bivouac?2023-12-18T11:46:41+01:00

Bivouacs in the Gorges de l’Ardèche are strictly regulated! To make a bivouac, you need to book your place with the Ardèche Gorges Tourist Office.

Advice from Viking Bateaux

Plan and choose your descent carefully2023-08-25T14:08:38+02:00

Before embarking on your adventure, take the time to plan and prepare your canoe trip down the Ardèche. Find out about the different routes available, their levels of difficulty and distances. Be sure to reserve your canoes in advance, especially if you plan to come during the high season. Advance planning will optimize your time and ensure that you have everything you need for a smooth and enjoyable experience.

Go to Top

Logo Viking Bateaux
Logo Viking Bateaux
Logo Viking Bateaux

04 75 88 08 87

07 85 63 85 83

FR – FAQ2024-02-02T15:21:37+01:00

Comment préparer sa descente de l’Ardèche ?

Comment bien préparer sa descente de l’Ardèche en canoë kayak à Vallon Pont d’Arc ? Découvrez la FAQ Viking Bateaux, de nombreux conseils et astuces pour une descente inoubliable.

Comment bien préparer sa descente de l’Ardèche ?

L’équipe Viking Bateaux a rassemblé de nombreuses questions régulièrement posées par sa clientèle au sujet des parcours, des conditions et difficultés de navigation sur l’eau, des modes de paiements et la réservation de bivouac. Nous souhaitons que cette FAQ vous aide à préparer votre descente de l’Ardèche en canoë kayak.

Tout savoir sur la descente

Qui peut effectuer une descente de l’Ardèche ?2023-08-24T17:26:13+02:00

L’activité est autorisée par les pouvoirs publics à partir de l’âge de 7 ans pour toute personne sachant nager. Tout mineur doit obligatoirement être accompagné d’un parent et/ou d’un moniteur diplômé d’état.

Les descentes sont-elles dangereuses ?2023-12-06T13:56:12+01:00

La descente de l’Ardèche en tant que telle n’est pas dangereuse si l’on sait respecter les bases essentielles de sécurité : veillez à ne jamais quitter votre gilet de sauvetage, ne plongez pas et ne sautez pas dans l’eau de manière inconsidérée, ne précipitez pas votre embarcation dans les rapides sans avoir préalablement évalué la trajectoire.

Néanmoins, pour être en sécurité sur une rivière, quelle qu’elle soit, il faut savoir calculer les risques en fonction de ses connaissances et de ses capacités, et bien prendre en considération toutes les consignes de sécurité préconisées. C’est pour cela que nous avons créé cette FAQ, pour vous aider à bien préparer votre descente de l’Ardèche en canoë kayak.

Les rapides de l’Ardèche sont-ils vraiment rapides ?2023-09-13T08:54:45+02:00

Dans son trajet le plus long de 36 km, vous trouverez le long de l’Ardèche un total d’environ 25 rapides plus ou moins difficiles à franchir. En réalité, seuls quelques-uns de ces rapides nécessiteront véritablement toute votre attention pour ne pas chavirer et vous retrouver à l’eau.

Nous vous recommandons de suivre attentivement le briefing d’initiation donné par nos instructeurs avant le départ, et de consulter les nombreuses informations présentes sur notre site à propos des rapides de l’Ardèche.

Quel équipement faut-il prévoir ?2023-08-24T17:26:01+02:00

– Maillot de bain, short et tee-shirt,
– Selon la météo, coupe-vent ou combinaison (prêt possible),
– Chaussures adaptées qui tiennent aux pieds,
– Évitez tong ou claquettes qui restent perdues en cas de chute,
– Chapeau ou casquette,
– Crème de protection solaire, pensez à la réverbération du soleil sur l’eau,
– Lunettes de soleil avec cordon,
– Pour les lunettes de vue prévoir une ancienne paire en cas de chute,
– Des vêtements secs de rechange,
– Un pique-nique pour vous restaurer,
– Un minimum de 1,5 litre d’eau pour vous hydrater,
– Un sac poubelle pour vos détritus à rapporter au débarcadère,
– Ne surtout pas emporter d’objets de valeur !

Comment se déroule une descente ?2023-12-06T13:59:59+01:00

Avant toute chose, veillez à avoir consulter notre FAQ : Comment préparer sa descente de l’Ardèche en canoë kayak ?

Rendez-vous tout d’abord à la base Viking Bateaux située à Vallon Pont d’Arc en Ardèche : ne vous souciez pas du stationnement, vous pourrez facilement garer votre véhicule sur notre parking privé et gratuit.

Présentez-vous ensuite à l’accueil soit pour effectuer une réservation sur place, soit muni de votre bon de réservation en ligne. A partir de cet instant, nous nous occupons de tout !

Une fois votre réservation enregistrée, et après avoir pris connaissance des conditions de repères et de sécurité sur la rivière, nous vous transportons aux embarcadères respectifs à chaque descente. Vous prendrez possession de vos embarcations, matériel complet et pagaies à l’issue d’une initiation et après avoir reçu les derniers conseils de sécurité. Vous effectuez votre parcours dans les conditions et horaires précisés. A la fin de votre parcours, nous vous ramenons des débarcadères respectifs jusqu’à notre base, où vous retrouverez votre véhicule.

Quel est le matériel fourni par Viking Bateaux ?2023-08-24T17:42:12+02:00

Dans tous les cas, nous vous équipons en priorité d’un gilet de sauvetage qui est obligatoire sur toutes les embarcations naviguant dans les Gorges de l’Ardèche.

Nous mettons ensuite à votre disposition un canoë ou un kayak en fonction de votre choix, une pagaies double asymétrique avec orientation différente des deux pales, ainsi qu’un bidon hermétique (non étanche pour les affaires personnelles importantes) de 25 ou 55 litres avec poignées sur le couvercle, PEHD qualité alimentaire, couvercle à visser pour transporter vos effets personnels, pique-nique, vêtements de rechange, etc. Un conseil pour éviter le manque d’étanchéité : serrer fortement le couvercle du bidon avant chaque départ !

Les chiens sont-ils autorisés sur les canoës ?2023-09-21T17:43:42+02:00

Oui, les fidèles compagnons sont les bienvenus et trouveront toujours une petite place gratuite sur les canoës (uniquement sur les parcours de 6 et 12 km), à la seule condition qu’ils soient parfaitement maîtrisés par leur propriétaire.

Réservation avec Viking Bateaux

Pourquoi choisir Viking Bateaux ?2023-12-06T14:04:15+01:00

Avec plus de 20 années d’expérience dans la location de canoë-kayak à Vallon pont d’Arc, Viking Bateaux se démarque des autres loueurs grâce à des services de qualité et une prise en charge totale de ses clients. Briefings précis, transports et parkings gratuits, matériel vérifié et une équipe aux petits soins.

Quelles sont les différentes catégories de prix ?2023-12-06T14:05:52+01:00

Le prix Adulte concerne les personnes âgées de 13 ans et plus. Le prix Enfant est réservé aux enfants âgés de 7 à 12 ans. Le prix Enfant en 3ème place est réservé aux enfants âgés de 7 à 12 ans positionnés au centre d’un canoë, entre les deux places normales. Le prix Groupe est une réduction pour les groupes de 10 à 20 personnes. Le prix Internet est une réduction spéciale si vous réglez intégralement votre réservation en ligne par carte bancaire.

Réservation sur place ou en ligne ?2023-08-24T17:37:01+02:00

Si vous effectuez votre réservation dans l’un de nos points de vente de Vallon Pont d’Arc, le tarif de base en boutique sera appliqué. Si vous réservez en ligne et payez par carte bancaire, vous disposerez de 2 options : soit verser un acompte de 30% et régler le solde le jour de votre descente, soit régler intégralement votre réservation en ligne.

Acompte de 50% ou paiement intégral ?2024-02-19T12:51:51+01:00

Faites des économies avec les descentes Viking Bateaux ! En réglant intégralement votre réservation en ligne par carte bancaire, vous pouvez bénéficier du tarif spécial Internet ! Un tarif vraiment très spécial puisqu’il peut offrir de conséquentes remises immédiates et par personne !

Pourquoi proposez-vous un tarif spécial Internet ?2023-08-24T17:36:55+02:00

Une réservation soldée nous permet de mieux planifier notre organisation quotidienne. En anticipant votre réservation, vous nous permettez aussi de gagner du temps et nous pouvons ainsi mieux nous consacrer aux services sur lesquels nous nous engageons. Il est donc logique que vous en profitiez directement sur les prix de nos descentes.

Que sont les “places normales” et “places centrales” ?2023-12-06T14:07:42+01:00

En pratique, les canoës sont véritablement pourvus de 2 places assises situées à l’avant et à l’arrière : ce sont les places dites normales. Elles peuvent être occupées par des adultes ou bien un adulte et un enfant à partir de 7 ans.

La 3ème place centrale est par conséquent une place située entre les deux places normales, et qui peut être occupée uniquement par un enfant de 7 à 12 ans maximum. Cette place peu conventionnelle mais très pratique pour les groupes et familles bénéficie d’un tarif préférentiel et unique pour toutes les descentes, sauf pour les descentes avec bivouac.

Où est le point de vente Viking Bateaux ?2023-12-06T14:08:53+01:00

Le point de vente Viking Bateaux est à votre disposition sur la commune de Vallon Pont d’Arc pour vous permettre de réserver simplement et rapidement de nombreuses activités sportives et de loisirs à vivre en famille ou entre amis : descentes de l’Ardèche, parc accrobranche, paintball, canyoning, spéléologie, via ferrata…

Pavillon Viking Bateaux, 416, Route des Gorges à Vallon Pont d’Arc

Vous pouvez retrouver nos coordonnées détaillées dans notre page de contact.

Comment préparer son bivouac ?

Qu’est-ce qu’un bivouac dans les Gorges ?2023-08-24T18:03:31+02:00

Un bivouac est un campement rudimentaire permettant de passer la nuit en pleine nature. Même si le bivouac nécessite souvent l’usage d’une tente, le fait de dormir sans protection, ce que l’on appelle communément “dormir à la belle étoile” relève aussi du bivouac, tout comme le fait de manger en plein air. En Ardèche, le bivouac sauvage est interdit.

Strictement interdit sur l’ensemble du périmètre de la Réserve Naturelle Nationale des Gorges de l’Ardèche, le bivouac sauvage est source de dérangements importants pour le milieu naturel (bruit, feux, piétinements, dépôt d’ordures…) et fait courir des risques importants à ceux qui le pratiquent (crue de l’Ardèche, incendie).

Où se déroulent les bivouacs autorisés ?2023-08-24T18:18:29+02:00

Deux anciennes exploitations agricoles, situées au coeur des Gorges de l’Ardèche, ont été créées au début des années 80 afin de permettre aux visiteurs de passer une nuit dans la Réserve Naturelle.

Le bivouac de Gaud, le plus vaste et le moins fréquenté, se trouve au tiers du parcours. Le bivouac de Gournier, à conseiller pour les randonneurs pédestres, se situe à la moitié de la descente. D’un confort sommaire (sanitaires, douches froides, barbecues collectifs avec charbon fourni, tables, eau potable, poste de secours), ces aires de bivouac offrent des conditions de séjours privilégiées en pleine nature. Il convient de respecter le silence et la tranquillité des lieux.

Comment réserver ses places de bivouac ?2023-09-13T09:02:11+02:00

Le bivouac dans les Gorges de l’Ardèche est strictement réglementé ! Pour effectuer un bivouac, vous devez réserver vos places auprès de l’Office de Tourisme des Gorges de l’Ardèche.

Les conseils de Viking Bateaux

Planifiez et choisissez bien votre descente2023-08-25T14:09:53+02:00

Avant de vous lancer dans votre aventure, prenez le temps de planifier et de préparer votre descente de l’Ardèche en canoë kayak. Renseignez-vous sur les différents parcours disponibles, les niveaux de difficulté et les distances. Assurez-vous de réserver vos canoës à l’avance, surtout si vous prévoyez de venir pendant la haute saison. La planification préalable vous permettra d’optimiser votre temps et de vous assurer que vous avez tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour une expérience fluide et agréable.